Love

Love, Fabric

Of real people, we care for festers;
Practical, more than just ethical,
we dirty our hands.
We ache and cry at the end of the day.
Like Christ, we love the real person.
More a doing than a feeling,
we love.
In our love, we do not desire more;
we serve.
Love originates in Christ:
Not in my brother, my sister,
my wife, my sons,
and not in some seen enemy,
but in Christ.
He is the light.
He is the word.
He is love.
In this rough fabric of our lives,
the Spirit weaves in love.
Love cleanses hands.
Love strengthens fabric.
Love shines bright.

(c) Tom Bolton, 8 April 2013, Milwaukee

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Analyst at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

