Devotions to Our God in the Manger: Human Too

A D V E N T   2 0 1 3:    D E V O T I O N S   T O   O U R   G O D   I N   T H E   M A N G E R

Week 4                                                                                                                                    Human

Jesus

Jesus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

          Human Too

So human, so child,
Can it be?
And now I remember that Jesus takes shape in we humans;
it is not our form,
but a repetition of form.
May I become human as God became human.
May I change and be transformed,
as a child of Him.
May I be scandalized and upset by
this image of the God-man;
may I see the sanctity and seriousness.
May my faith be renewed as a child.
I see this image of hope now.
Light and growth in some mirror,
I see things anew.

(c) Tom Bolton, 20 December 2014, on ice

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Analyst at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.