The Vine

I’m re-posting this blog from February because I like it. lol! I wrote this short poem on February 24 after prayer. I was deep in prayer that day, and came away thinking about fruits of the spirit. What hit me that February Friday night was that I am on a vine, and it is a healthy vine, I see, and the vine is succulent, filled with life-sustaining water.

On the Vine

Tonight, I’m thinking about life on the vine.
I’m on the vine, a vibrant branch, these days.
I feel the vital fluids stream through the branches,
Love flowing rich and refreshing me.    
I do feel fruitful, I do feel strong,
Living in love, living in Jesus’ love.
And I am filled with joy.
And my love is completed in joy.
I open myself to the presence of Jesus, and
I am fruitful these days.
It once was hard to open myself up, and to
Invite Jesus into me. Scary?
No. I’m on a fruitful vine here.

The peace is alive, and it passes through us;
The pruning was by a kind farmer, we see.
Oh, how great a vine we share tonight.

C Thomas Bolton February 25, 2012

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in About Tom. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Vine

  1. PASTOR DAVIS/MASTER TEACHER says:

    A really great piece of art you have written here. We are all called to be fruit bearer. But so many of us become dead wood, and Jesus must cut us loose from the Vine. Thank you my friend for sharing your beautiful thoughts in this poem.

  2. Pingback: VINE AND BRANCH WEDNESDAY PRAYER PRAISE AND WORSHIP « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com

Leave a Reply

