Book Referrals from Teddy Ray

A Crash Course in Theology !
I appreciate these recommendations on Wesleyan theology from Teddy Ray today.   You can click on the link above to see Pastor Ray’s blog.

I loved some of these books, and plan to search out some of the others.

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Recommendations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Referrals from Teddy Ray

  1. Teddy Ray says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Tom. Which of these books have you read? Anything you would suggest adding to the list?

  2. Tom Bolton says:

    I’ve read The Way to Heaven: The Gospel According to John Wesley by Steve Harper, On the Threshold of Grace: Methodist Fundamentals by Donald Haynes, Christian Theology: An Introduction by Alister McGrath, and I have browsed Lawson’s book. I cannot add books on theology so much. But i would add some books on Christian education, I think. Of course, this yeat much of my reading has been in Bonhoeffer, and he is probably my greatest influence these days.

    • Teddy Ray says:

      Bonhoeffer’s not bad to have as a greatest influence. I just started reading “The Cost of Discipleship” again. (Actually, listening to the audio version.) The chapter on cheap grace is worth the price of the book.

Leave a Reply

