My Sons

It is good to be pleased with one’s sons, I think.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My Sons, Who Please Me

Will I sound blasphemous to introduce
My Sons:
These are my sons, in whom I am well pleased.
Will I sound evil to use God’s words that way?
Maybe not.
I am blessed most days as I meditate on His words.
These sons of mine–God’s blessings now and when old–
can they be any more than what God has made them?
This Nathan, husband and calm anchor,
who has taught him this way if not the Holy One?
What fathers mentored him? What wise ones taught him,  if not Abba, father, God-of-Grace, God-of- Love?
This quick-witted Nathan,
This one who calls out the false ones, the phonies,
Is he not a mighty son?
This John, gentle and sure, questioning and hearing,
Who has taught him his ways in this world? None here!
What father showed him? What booming bas sang the word  into him? None of this world, none of my time.
Was it not the wise One who breathed the Word into him,  our God-of-Grace, God-of-Love?
This angel of a son, this musical John,
This one who helps when he hears a call,
Is he not my son too?
Today I see my sons about me,
even as they are away from me,
and I know:
I am blessed by my sons.

(c) Tom Bolton, Milwaukee, September 27, 2012

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Sons

  1. Pingback: Top Posts of Poems in 2012 | Hopeful

Leave a Reply

