As we near the end of our class, I thought I would repost this.

Hopeful

We’ve studied the Bible for 19 weeks now in our Disciple Bible class at First United Methodist Church of West Allis.  Truly, it is a marvelous curriculum, and I am with a wonderful group.  I have thought about how the Marks of Discipleship make a strong litany, and as we enter the New Testament this month, I am reminded of the orientation to Action for Disciples.

Disciples Act

Disciples place themselves under the power and authority of Scripture–
–Free in the Word!

Disciples know that they belong to God, that God has claim on them–
–We act on our discipleship with Jesus, eternal Word!

Disciples acknowledge their rebelliousness, and repent–
–We turn away, sometimes many times.

Disciples respond to God’s call, enter the covenant community,  express committment–
–called and shaped, sometimes many times!

Disciples hear and obey God’s call to be bearers of God’s message of deliverance–
–Listen to our…

View original post 664 more words

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in About Tom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

