Make Room for Youth Dane County Wisconsin

Foolishly, I had not thought of Dane County having much of an issue with chronic homelessness.  I guess I need to be aware that it is everywhere.

This is a well-done video on homeless youth in Madison and surrounding communities:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsoNjdLSEgk

It really is true that homeless folks are more often the victims. I am glad the speaker brought that up early in the video.

Make Room For Youth (MRFY) was formed in the fall of 2010 by a small group concerned about the safety of Unaccompanied Youth who are experiencing homelessness. Because every human being deserves a safe home, the mission of MRFY is to make a positive difference in the lives of youth by developing and maintaining housing for unaccompanied youth ages 13-21 who are experiencing homelessness in Dane County Wisconsin.

Many folks I talk with think that there aren’t really many homeless youth and children; the thought is that they are placed somewhere.  But often, these young ones are really homeless, with no safe options.

The video above is about 12 minutes, but it is worth viewing.  It is very informative.

I pray for these young ones especially.

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Recommendations, Reflecting on Missions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

