Small is Beautiful

This is a great neighborhood mission, operated by a very small church.

In a small building tucked away on a side street in Forrest City, Ark., Kynette United Methodist Church gathers each week. With an average worship attendance of 15 to 20 people, it certainly fits the definition of “small church.”

Rex Winkley touches up paint in a newly-remodeled room of Kynette United Methodist Church in Forrest City, Ark. The space will house a new after-school program to reach out to elementary-aged students and their parents. PHOTO BY SUE WINKLEY

But its size won’t stop it from reaching out into its mission field in a new way this year: through Key’s Afterschool Homework Club, housed in a newly-remodeled room of the building.

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
Link | This entry was posted in Recommendations, Reflecting on Missions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

