Transfigured

Reflecting on Matt 7: 1-13 and Luke 9: 28-36

Passing Through the Cloud

I too hiked up that mountain, following the master,
and I stayed just outside of that thick cloud for too long.
I listened and I was assured.
The father told me to listen.
[Some days it is hard to just listen.
I can’t listen;
 words come out of my own mouth too fast.]  tranf3
Eight years I journeyed from the first words,
and I rejoiced at the mountain.
Here I am Lord; speak only to me.
In the dazzling white, I came to listen.
Moses and Elijah guide me some ways,
But Jesus speaks when I am awake.
Some days I am so afraid in the cloud.
 Still, let me enter the cloud each day.
I stay silent and listen.
 Let me be prepared. Teach me lord.
 I would still be prepared to tell the story!
Here on this Holy ground, I learn,
I listen.
For these moments alone with Jesus, I yearn
to hear him clearly.
On holy ground, I prepare to listen,
I prepare as a disciple.
Some days, I remember to keep silent,
to listen,
preparing to speak his lessons.
On the mountain paths, I become
aware,
gazing on mountain laurel, pink and white,
and on blue-green mosses.
I squint my eyes, and I listen.
I listen.
Today we, disciples, listen,
and we prepare for new Easters,
 On that mountain, I listen, prepare.

(c) Tom Bolton, February 2, 2013, West Allis

Our Confirmation Class at West Allis First United Methodist Church has been preparing to lead worship this week, with Luke’s text on the transfiguration.  This has led me to think some about the words these past few weeks.

I love the words from our Confirmands that were recorded their first time through the Scripture as they started to prepare the lesson.  Some of their initial comments became this prayer:

Good and gracious God, we give you thanks and praise for the good news we receive in this Gospel account: that we are invited to join Jesus on holy ground; that we see your glory in Jesus;  that we receive direction from you in the cloud; that you speak;  that when everyone else is gone, Jesus remains and gives us hope. Meet us in our worship, that all we are and do and speak   in faithfulness to Jesus will be to your glory.    Amen.

I’m looking forward to worship on Sunday with our Confirmands.

transfigured

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture, Recommendations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Transfigured

  1. Pingback: Hopeful

  2. Tom Bolton says:

    Reblogged this on Hopeful and commented:

    I re-blog this too often perhaps.

Leave a Reply

