Morning Out at Northcott Neighborhood

Our Second Saturday Servants group from West Allis First United Methodist Church is working at Northcott Neighborhood House the next few months. In fact, we were there this past Saturday. A small crew also makes sandwiches each month for delivery to homeless folks outside.  We made 28 sandwiches Saturday and they were delivered and enjoyed on Sunday

Stockbox
Northcott Neighborhood House offers a variety of programs to enrich our community.

This past week, our crew was organizing  clothing in the clothing room, and helping at Mothers Morning Out. We had cleaned out the clothing room and put up shelving in the Fall.  This month we added some new donations, put winter clothing in boxes and put more of the spring and summer clothing out in bins.  (Yes, we are past winter!)

We were heartily greeted when we arrived at Northcott again on Saturday.   I love to see the many young people participating in activities at Northcott.  A team of eight teenage volunteers was working near us, and helped move some of the larger boxes of clothing to us.  I am inspired by how hard these teenage men are working.

English: Copyright © 2005 Sulfur A view of th...

We worked in the tight confines of the clothing room most of the morning.  There were not  many children there for mom’s Morning Out at first.  (A group of older youth went out into the neighborhood Saturday morning to publicize the event door-to-door, and children were delivered later in the morning.)  I was thankful that the activities with the children got going, so that Karen, from our group, could go down and read to children and paint faces.  She is a long-time teacher, and I know she was excited about this activity.

A high point of the morning for me was a small, but meaningful, event.  As we were stacking clothing and sorting away, and getting a bit sweaty Saturday morning, one of the young men came in to offer us beverages.  No one told him to do it.  No one directed him to the supplies.  He just thought it out on his own to stop by and see if we would like to share some apple juice with him.  We were thirsty–even though I’m not sure we had thought about it.  I loved how thoughtful he was to we strangers working in the next room.

I stopped by the gym late in the morning–on my way to pick up some supplies–and was amazed that all the youth playing basketball were at least 18 inches taller than me.  Was I always so short?  They sure looked talented and joyful at that moment in the late morning.

I look forward to new volunteers joining us on May 11.  I expect there will be lots of new young children there; I expect this event may move into the afternoon in future month. I am hoping to see two new volunteers in our group each month. I think it will be a good sign of our discipleship. We invite people from all over the community to join us each Second Saturday at 9:00 am. There is no need to be a member of West Allis First UMC. We just look for your sincere ministry to those who need us and love our presence.

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Recommendations, Reflecting on Missions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morning Out at Northcott Neighborhood

  1. Pingback: Northcott Neighborhood House Video | Hopeful

  2. Tom Bolton says:

    Reblogged this on Hopeful and commented:

    I’m looking forward to getting back to Northcott Neighborhood House today.

Leave a Reply

