LOVE

Joyful Love

leftovers

leftovers (Photo credit: Muffet)

I do love leftovers, this I confess,
But let my love shared not be leftovers,
Except when they are new—
The leftovers I love when seen fresh each time.
Make my love for God
New and fresh each day,
Shared as the finest each day.
I share this best with the world around us,
Shared as the freshest, but
Loved as I love my favorite leftovers.
Can anyone else know I love leftovers,
Fresh each time I eye them anew?
There was a new book too, on Monday,
New and brilliant,
And then that was first—the thing that I loved!
On Tuesday, then, new friends found, and
Old friends, newly learned,
These became the things I loved so much!
My family delighted me Wednesday,
And Thursday amazed me,
And my family was what I loved most.
My house, so fine, I loved it too.
Look, Look, how greatly loved I know I am!
From this place, let me pour out great love.
In great joy,
My love is for my Lord first,
Fresh, new.

© Tom Bolton, 31 July 2013, Milwaukee, on the Riverwalk

1 John 3:18

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to LOVE

  1. Pingback: Tragic Silence | Hopeful

  2. Pingback: You Know Me Well | Hopeful

  3. Pingback: A love Tale | Hopeful

Leave a Reply

