Jubilation

Words

This was another stanza from my meditation on Psalm 119.  I wrote this in early 2012.

I. In Judgement, Knowing

Jubilation! I know how you treat me!
As you promised, you treat me just so.
Judgement and knowledge are in your word,
and you teach me each day, because I see
your commandments as jewels.
Just then, again I thought I might wander
away from you again, but I know that in suffering, I yearned again
to hold onto your word.
Joy in the Word, Blessed!
Joy in your word! Teach me.
Judged by haughty and self-righteous hedonists,
I am defamed some days, but I do best when I set these things far away and
obey what you put before me.
Jaundiced and cold, calloused really,
they don’t see me, and miss you, Lord,
but I am happy again, enriched by your word.
Joyful in the word, blessed!
Once I suffered and I learned from you:
Joy and Hope!
Judged by the measures of this fanciful society,
your words fill me more than any
Jeopardy winnings. You are my prize.

(C) 2012 Tom Bolton, Milwaukee

Re-blogged

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jubilation

  1. Pingback: Knowledge | Hopeful

  2. Pingback: H U N G E R | Hopeful

  3. Pingback: on The Way | Hopeful

  4. Pingback: On Word, Law and Life: L | Hopeful

Leave a Reply

