Eternal

John left yesterday, but as he left,
Still in Young Days found again,
He asked for God to help him.
And as I miss John,
I know today,
We’ll meet again, John and me,
in a better place, and
We look forward to that day.
Friends as brothers,
still we will share that bond

Reblogged

The Eternal Flame in front of Metro Hall.

The Eternal Flame in front of Metro Hall. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(C) Tom Bolton, 20 November 2012, Milwaukee

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, a former Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am continuing to learn in my dialysis experience and pursuit of a kidney transplant. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in About Tom, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eternal

  1. This is another great poem. These really lift me up. Thanks for posting them!
    -Peter from the Bridge

    • Tom Bolton says:

      Thanks Peter. It lifts me up too. John was one of my best friends in High School. We shared the same birthdate. We went in different directions as adults, and John suffered through three or four bouts of cancer as an adult. I was feeling a bit empty when he passed away last year, but I was really thankful to hear that he had called upon Jesus before his death. It reminded me that it is appropriate for me to look forward to eternity. We don’t often do that in our culture.

      • I actually lost one of my best friends while I was in high school. He was definitely the best example of a Christian I had at the time and he definitely brought his friends closer to the Lord. I totally felt the same as you describe, feeling his absence, but then ultimately looking forward to where we were both going and being thankful for him being in my life.

  2. Pingback: Tragic Silence | Hopeful

  3. Pingback: Never but Eternal | Hopeful

Leave a comment