Fruitful Vines in the Spirit

English: Grapes on the vine A fruitful vine gr...

I’m re-posting this blog from February 2012 because I like it. lol! I wrote this short poem after prayer. I was deep in prayer that day, and came away thinking about fruits of the spirit. What hit me that February Friday night was that I am on a vine, and it is a healthy vine, I see, and the vine is succulent, filled with life-sustaining water.

Jesus

On the Vine

Tonight, I’m thinking about life on the vine.
I’m on the vine, a vibrant branch, these days.
I feel the vital fluids stream through the branches,
Love flowing rich and refreshing me.
I do feel fruitful, I do feel strong,
Living in love, living in Jesus’ love.
And I am filled with joy.
And my love is completed in joy.
I open myself to the presence of Jesus, and
I am fruitful these days.
It once was hard to open myself up, and to
Invite Jesus into me. Scary?
No. I’m on a fruitful vine here.

The peace is alive, and it passes through us;
The pruning was by a kind farmer, we see.
Oh, how great a vine we share tonight.

(C) Thomas Bolton February 25, 2012

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Disciplines, Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fruitful Vines in the Spirit

  1. Pingback: The Spirits Tested, Overcome | Hopeful

Leave a Reply

