Friday Call for Help

I am thinking that I may make this a regular feature on Fridays: I’ll ask my readers for ideas and suggestions on a topic I am working on.

I’m looking for a crafty, but simple, mission project that may productively occupy time for staff and guests at an overnight program for homeless men and women from December 1 through March 31 each year.  This won’t be a required activity, but my sense is that many of our guests will welcome this from time to time.

When I was meeting with the Whitewater young Optimists they shared a project that they do regularly for team-building and just accomplishing something good.  The make non-sew fleece tied blankets

Milwaukee Police Department

for children that have been displaced from their homes by fire or other disaster, or domestic disturbance.  The materials are provided by a county agency, and I think the blankets are distributed by the Walworth County Sheriff’s Department.

I am looking for similar project for our group of staff, hosts, and guests to work on during cold winter evenings.  I believe the experience of mission is uplifting, and I believe in connecting groups.

Does anyone know of a group that uses these blankets in Milwaukee?  I especially would like to find an organization that has the materials but needs the labor.  Does the Milwaukee County Sheriff’s Department or Milwaukee Police Department have a need for these blankets?  Or do you know of any other projects that we might work on instead of just watching TV and eating at night?  I am open to most ideas, but here are my criteria:

* Provide meaningful service or meet a need of the community;

* If a craft, it should be simple enough that I can learn it, since I will need to teach it;

* Not be too expensive to make;

* Allow for the completion of some segments in an evening;

* Provide opportunities for 10 to 20 workers at a time.

If you have ideas or new suggestions, please share with me here or email your ideas to me.

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Reflecting on Missions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Call for Help

  1. This may be an old idea, but it worked well when I was a Pastor in Baton Rouge. We caledl them “Manna Bags.” They were just a variety of snacks put in a small bag to give to those in need. Perhaps the people in the shelter would feel that they were doing service for others. We never had any trouble getting donations from our congregation or other outlets. It might work for you.

Leave a Reply

