on The Way

Reading Colossians 2

We, on the Way

We have been placed on this way.
Can we walk anywhere else, having been here?
We have embraced this new way of living,
not entering only a spiritual, mystical place,
but embracing new life, yesterday, today and tomorrow.
Today we have been blessed unexpectedly,
and Monday I was blessed.
The burdens weighed upon me this week,
as loved ones suffered and left this world in constant pain.
The burdens weighed upon me a week ago,
as my work pressed upon me, and uncertainty awoke me.
I thought to leave this path.
I thought to misbehave.
I thought selfish thought.
I thought I might leave this way.
Where would I go?
Is there some other place that illumines me?
Where would I find life?
On this way, I find my eternity.
My mansion is made.
Light my way, Lord.

(c) Tom Bolton, 4 September 2013, on Water Street

English: the first of the Epistles to the Colo...

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

