On Word, Law and life: U stanza

God the Father 04

God the Father 04 (Photo credit: Waiting For The Word)

Another stanza from my meditation on Psalm 119:

        U. I am Unimportant
Unfair actions happen all around me.
Unknown to many, your Word is fair, because
You are righteous, as you teach us.
Untested at once, we seize hold of
your word, because it is fair and reliable.
Unused to such truth, I burn up with fervor,
Unable to forget these words.
Ugly, ugly; ugliness is all around,
but your word, Holy One, is tested, and
I love it. I love to be with you, God-of-grace.
I am unimportant,
Unimportant, and yet you gave me words to hold as my own.
Unimportant as I am, your
Word is reliable to me.
Unrepentant too often, I find trouble in terror,
but the word of Just-God gives me joy.
Unfailing, the written words are always there for me,
and I am open: Help me to
Understand the words, so that I will live.

I appreciated Brian Hardin’s comments on the Word on October 24.  Among other things, he said, “It is in today’s reading that we really come to the reason we are even here doing what we’re doing, the reason even that a Daily Audio Bible should exist, the reason why we would come together around this little global campfire.  That is the way I picture it.  We all kind of come in from different countries and continents.  We come into this light.  Paul says all scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction and for training in righteousness that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work.

“Isn’t this why we would come here, to be trained in righteousness at the feet of God himself?  I’m reading every day.  You’re hearing my voice, but these are God’s words.  We’re allowing him to speak to us.  So it is like we come into this global campfire and sit at the feet of the Lord, listening to what he has to say to us for our day and then we carry it with us and allow it to teach us, allow it to correct us and orient us to where he is moving and what he is doing, to keep our eyes focused on him throughout each and every day, as it is the rhythm of our very lives to come and center ourselves by sitting at his feet and listening to what he has to say.  It trains us to be righteous people so we can be complete.  This is his desire, our completion, our maturity and equipping us for every good work.  This is what we’re created for.  We’re not meant to wander in the darkness, wondering what is going on.  That is not what we’re made for.  We’re made to walk with God.  This is a beautiful way for Paul to say it and this is why we are here.”

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

