Devotions to Our God in the Manger: A Knock

A D V E N T   2 0 1 3:   D E V O T I O N S   T O   O U R    G O D   I N   T H E   M A N G E R

Jesus

Week 1                            Stay Awake

                               A Knock

This week, I too have heard Jesus at the door,
knocking,
and the vibrations have tingled often in my chest,
and I have been aware, awake,
and I come to the door alive.
Whom do I see?
My neighbor is there, seeking missing mail;
lonely?
Urban camper friends come, seeking
bus passes and warmth;
cold and lonely?
A young boy comes a calling,
seeking a small job to earn some bread;
ragged and lonely?
Christ is alive in my community,
as He was in Christmas past.
Christ is alive and He knocks on my door.
I am anxious now for a final Advent,
for all things new, but today He lives at my door.

(c) Tom Bolton, 2 December, 2013, Cathedral Square

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Devotions to Our God in the Manger: A Knock

  1. Pingback: Devotions to Our God in the Manger: Respected Mystery | Hopeful

  2. Pingback: Devotions to Our God in the Manger: Love Mystery | Hopeful

  3. Pingback: Devotions to Our God in the Manger: Redeemed | Hopeful

  4. Pingback: Devotions to Our God in the Manger: Mysteries | Hopeful

  5. Pingback: Devotions to Our God in the Manger: Mysterious Love | Hopeful

  6. Pingback: Devotions to Our God in the Manger 2014: Redeemed | Hopeful

Leave a Reply

