Devotions to Our God in the Manger: Light and Man

A D V E N T   2 0 1 3:    D E V O T I O N S   T O   O U R   G O D   I N   T H E   M A N G E R

Week 4                                                                                                                                   Human

Ask, Seek, Knock

  The Light and the Man

Word.   God.   Light.   Life.    Light.
Human, really human,
and human nature is illumined by
the light.
We too are called to be really human,
God-made human,
God-loved human,
and the light rests on something deep,
and deeper in each of us.
Joy in the Word!
Joy to the World!
God has lifted his love above
everything we can imagine.
Love lies in the manger.
The light shines.
The word is made light, and
as it was in the beginning,
the word is God.
This is a baby in the manger–tonight–
beyond our understanding, and
brighter than we see sometimes.
Again, joy in the Word!
Joy to our World!

(c) Tom Bolton, 20 December 2013, Tippecanoe

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.