Your Neighbor

           In Serving

In the neighbor, new and newly embraced,
He comes to me.
Found in ways newly dreamed,
He embraces me and him,
and we walk together, and
He is apace with us.
God’s goodness is there with us,
each step of the way.
We seek to be like Him,
fearing what we may be,
and desirous of walking the path.
Blessed, we meet the Christ.
It is in that walk, skipping and stumbling
with the child, that we embrace and are embraced.
We are here blessed.

(c) Tom Bolton, approaching a place, 11 March 2014

200px-Circuit_rider_illustration_Eggleston

On Mark 9:37
36-37 He put a child in the middle of the room. Then, cradling the little one in his arms, he said, “Whoever embraces one of these children as I do embraces me, and far more than me—God who sent me.”

The Message (MSG)

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

