An Oz Book

I’ve carried over my 2013 project to read all the Oz Books in the official Baum OZ cannon into 2014. A few weeks ago, I finished The Magic of Oz.   L. Frank Baum’s last beloved Oz book before his death, this story deals with the discovery of a powerful magic word by a young boy from Oz, who immediately is plunged head-first into adventure through his discovery. We get to see many of the classic OZ-book characters in different groupings, along with some new characters of course.
The discussions of evil in this novel are particularly good. Young Kiki Aru is an interesting character–early in the book he says “I didn’t know I was being wicked, but if I was, I’m glad of it. I hate good people. I’ve always wanted to be wicked, but I didn’t know how.” How detached!  He is a good student for the Gnome king.
Here are a few of the quotes that I particularly like in this book:
“It’s a bird of some sort. It’s like a duck, only I never saw a duck have so many colors.”
The bird swam swiftly and gracefully toward the Magic Isle, and as it drew nearer its gorgeously colored plumage astonished them. The feathers were of many hues of glistening greens and blues and purples, and it had a yellow head with a red plume, and pink, white and violet in its tail.”
“Why, I’m not afraid to go anywhere, if the Cowardly Lion is with me,” she said. “I know him pretty well, and so I can trust him. He’s always afraid, when we get into trouble, and that’s why he’s cowardly; but he’s a terrible fighter, and that’s why he isn’t a coward. He doesn’t like to fight, you know, but when he HAS to, there isn’t any beast living that can conquer him.”
“The Glass Cat is one of the most curious creatures in all Oz. It was made by a famous magician named Dr. Pipt before Ozma had forbidden her subjects to work magic. Dr. Pipt had made the Glass Cat to catch mice, but the Cat refused to catch mice and was considered more curious than useful.
This astonishing cat was made all of glass and was so clear and transparent that you could see through it as easily as through a window. In the top of its head, however, was a mass of delicate pink balls which looked like jewels but were intended for brains. It had a heart made of a blood-red ruby. The eyes were two large emeralds. But, aside from these colors, all the rest of the animal was of clear glass, and it had a spun-glass tail that was really beautiful.”
It is interesting to me that the main characters try to keep the evil characters in the Emerald City at the end–after the evil ones have forgotten everything–and try to teach them to be good in their community.

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in About Tom, Recommendations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

