Like Thomas

On John 14:2

cross

        Room Enough

Like Thomas, I have searched the way,
and I love this community,
love this master.
But these days, I am reminded:
There is a place with many rooms,
there is a place prepared,
there is a place I can scarce imagine.
A place just for me?
A place personally prepared?
And as I ponder this, I know:
Our relationship is personal;
it is not just academic.
Our conversation is personal.
Our manhood is real, and okay, loved.
The walls are a color I don’t yet know–
Not the colors I forget here, but new colors.
The scents are new and rich,
pleasant and mouth-watering.
The sounds are clear and fresh, not clamored.
The work is uplifting, joyous, unknown here-to-for.
The place is new, and worth pondering as
I live the life in this way in this place.
In this way,
I approach my room.
It is room enough, made just for me.

(c) Tom Bolton, downtown Milwaukee, 7 April 2014

John 14:2

The Message (MSG)

The Road

“Don’t let this throw you. You trust God, don’t you? Trust me. There is plenty of room for you in my Father’s home. If that weren’t so, would I have told you that I’m on my way to get a room ready for you? And if I’m on my way to get your room ready, I’ll come back and get you so you can live where I live. And you already know the road I’m taking.”

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

