Happy Birthday June Jentz!

 

Today we are celebrating the 80th birthday of June Jentz, my mother-in law.  Happy birthday!

Mother June, Sister June

Of mothers lost and mothers found,
and love learned and lived,
I found mother June in my life.
In decades past, and in days recent,
she took me in her house just as I am
a wanderer, a drifter, a disciple.
When I was single, alone, and coughing in fever,
she put me up, put up with me,
and fed me just as I was.
She has connected us with the saints in our times, reluctant but
stable and solid in good times and hard times,
and connects the times through ages known.

A sister of sisters and mother of daughters,
she gathered in sons, husbands of daughters,
and a husband, she held, a best friend forever.
She has been a hostess of families, friends and clans,
a center of the table, ready or not, and
a center of the living room, energized and when worn down.
She remembers us and loves us,
even when we are unsure of ourselves.
She lifts us up and knows us,
even when we question our lives and our place.
With Paul, she partners to complete the team,
to make the home, the central place in sacred life.
With daughters, grandsons, granddaughter, and new
generations,
she seized the days and lives the life.
She is blessed to be a blessing to a family of families.
She is blessed to bless our community,
communities grown over years old and new.
She hems our hems,
Hears our harrumphs,
Heals our hurts,
and does the things we forget to see;
she does these things with quiet dignity.
She lives her life, a model, a special one.
She has been a daughter, a wife, a mother,
Grandma June,
and always a wonder-filled Wisconsin woman.
In the center,
on a special day,
we lift June to celebrate her day.
Happy birthday, Sister June, Mother June.
Bless you on your blessed day.

(c) Tom Bolton, from Milwaukee, 19 April 2014

178333_4191110185510_209135345_o

I am always thankful that my mother-in-law and father-in-law have adopted me as their son in so many ways.  On the event of her 80th birthday this month, I was thinking about June Jentz, my mother-in-law.  I am sharing this poem with her today.  June is a very special woman.

This awesome video history was created by my Sister-in-Law Barb Hoeft.

Related Article
Brother Paul, Father Paul

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in About Tom, Recommendations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Birthday June Jentz!

  1. Tom Bolton says:

    Reblogged this on Hopeful and commented:

    I am re-blogging my four posts that got the most views in 2014. I’m not sure these are my best blogs, but they have the most attractive key words, I think. The number 4 post for 2014 is my birthday poem for my mother-in-law.

Leave a Reply

