Preparing for Surgery

Today, I am preparing for surgery to have a tumor removed from my right kidney.  I have been blessed that it was found early, and I have a top-notch surgeon.  I am doubly blessed that many friends and members of Christ’s body have been praying for me.  I believe in the power of prayer.

Here are a few thoughts that percolate in my mind as I prepare for my 12:30 pm surgery:

I am thankful that I have a wonderful wife who supports me and looks out for me;

I am feeling like somewhat of a burden to family today;

I am worried about being out of control:  As often as I have tried to turn over control of my life to God, I have a really hard time being out of control; I don’t fear death, but I do fear the idea of having no control while I’m laying in the hospital;

I feel weak today;

I hate anesthesia and worry about it;

I am contemplating hearing voices while I am under anesthesia this day:  Will it open me to new voices?  For some reason this has been on my mind for the past month:

Can I be a good patient?

How soon can I return to work?

Can I turn over control and discernment and return to daily life when it is best to do it?

Light Streaming Through the Crown of a Tree

My blog will present mostly reruns this next week, and a few poems that I have written in April.  I seek your prayers.  I do believe in prayer.   –Tom

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in About Tom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preparing for Surgery

  1. Hello Tom! May the Lord bless and keep you, and make His face shines upon you, and give you His peace in these trying times. I pray that he takes control and guide the surgeon hands during surgery. I have no doubt He will. God blesses.

Leave a Reply

