At Always, God

Contemplating 1 Peter 4:19 in the New English Translation (NET Bible)

So then let those who suffer according to the will of God entrust their souls to a faithful Creator as they do good.

601655_169972666467393_1690513489_n

At Always, God

In the beginning, it is God.
Creator of beauty and mysteries
that startle us each day,
it is God who makes us, and
makes life and beauty so grand.

Starting our lives fresh and clean,
with that smell of baby hair,
it is God who labors to make us love,
who loves us to accept us,
to gracefully embrace us.

In the sun, as we grow and move,
it is in the son, where we feel
the light, and see in the light, and
too often head off into the shade,
and the light yet shines around us.

In the light now we grow,
and daily we yearn to know,
and in the imagination where we live,
we seek meaning,
to find a master, as we, disciples, seek.

And then there comes revelation;
the Spirit who fills us, and
is with us, and speaks to us, is powerful.
We are transformed, and
we live
in this grand creation,
in this gorgeous light.
We are with Him.

(c) Tom Bolton, West Allis, 10 August 2014

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At Always, God

  1. Tom Bolton says:

    Thank you very much!

  2. Tom Bolton says:

    Reblogged this on Hopeful and commented:

    Last week, I re-blogged four of my posts that received the most hits in 2014. This week, I am re-blogging 4 of my poems that most pleased me in 2014.. At Always, God has been a favorite!

Leave a Reply

