Devotions to Our God in the Manger 2014: In This tent

A D V E N T   2 0 1 4:   D E V O T I O N S   T O   O U R   G O D   I N   T H E   M A N G E R

Jesus

Week 1                                                                                       Stay Awake

       In This Tent

Even after this time,
When my tent is shreds here,
I know His presence will be my present.
I know the place of my spirit.
I dream of the place,
the royal place,
the new mansion I have dreamed about,
this newest of homes.
Bright and warm beyond belief,
I believe,
and await.
Not the end,
But the beginning,
I dream of this place in the tent.
I know this place of my soul.

(c) Tom Bolton, Milwaukee, 20 November 2014

2 Corinthians 5:1                       (New International Version (NIV))

For we know that if the earthly tent we live in is destroyed, we have a building from God, an eternal house in heaven, not built by human hands.

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Devotions to Our God in the Manger 2014: In This tent

  1. Tom Bolton says:

    I’ve been re-reading the week, and listening to the videos, today. I really love Alex Boye and “I Want Jesus to Walk with Me.”

Leave a Reply

