Devotions to Our God in the Manger: Joy of the Redeemed

A D V E N T  2 0 1 4:    D E V O T I O N S   T O   O U R   G O D   I N   T H E   M A N G E R

Week 3                                                                                                            Redeemed

Isaiah 35:1

 deathvalley_0083

 Joy of the Redeemed

I believe, I believe, I believe,
and I am giddy in joy,
warm and excitable this day.
Today my longing is deepened, my
search for home more lively.
Hope thrives in the wilderness,
my dreams made new each day,
God waiting for me in the stillness,
the stillness awakening me.
My smallest concern is in this wilderness,
Jesus my comforter.
I am a partner in hope,
redeemed.
Let peace begin with me,
shared through me.
I have surrendered my cluttered thoughts,
awake in joy–
Joy in redemption.
God heals the world,
and I walk gently in the way of Christ’s peace,
this way,
Shalom bringer,
walking home with joy.
My spirit rejoices!
I joyfully walk home.

Joy to the World!
Joy in the Word!

© Tom Bolton, December 20, 2014, Milwaukee

 

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Devotions to Our God in the Manger: Joy of the Redeemed

  1. Tom Bolton says:

    Reblogged this on Hopeful and commented:

    Last week, I re-blogged four of my posts that received the most hits in 2014. This week, I am re-blogging 4 of my poems that most pleased me in 2014. I added Joy of the Redeemed to the third week of my Advent Devotional series this year. This poem, based on Isaiah 35 was a favorite as I was writing it and I have been blessed when I re-read it.

Leave a Reply

