New Shoots

A new letter from Mineral Street:

Mineral Street Programs and Services, Inc.

Cultivating healthy individuals, healthy families, for a healthy community.

Offshoots

July 2015

Dear Friends,

My husband and I recently bought a house and moved back to Wisconsin. For the first time ever I am able to have a garden. Sure, I helped my mom weed her garden while growing up, but this is the first time for me to have my own garden. The problem is, while one of the beds looks really great to plant in, one other bed is full of rocks and another full of weeds. I started working on the garden by slowly removing some of the rocks and weeds. I soon found that some of the weeds were too close to the scallions that I had planted and I had to leave the weeds in for fear of pulling out the growing scallions. Then a pesky rabbit ate my bean sprouts! So I put up a fence to help keep them out but I will not have beans this year. My cucumbers, on the other hand, seem to be doing very well. I can’t wait until I have fresh cucumbers to eat!

All of this sounds familiar. The planting of my garden sounds like the parable found in Matthew 13:3-9. And the weeds that I can’t pull sounds like the parable found in Matthew 13:24-30.

And all of this is also true of Morning Glory. We are sowing God’s word one meal at a time. Some hear and want to learn more and some do not. Some of the guests are difficult but we keep trying to work with them just the same. But each person who comes thru the door is taken care of and is being touched by God. It is up to them how they want to receive God’s love that is never ending. We will continue working in this garden until it is harvest time.

Matthew 9:37-38 says Then he said to His disciples, “The harvest truly is plentiful, but the laborers are few. Therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.”

Will you come and work in the “garden” with us?

May God Bless this Ministry and You!

In Christ,

Lisa Hernandez

Morning Glory Director

MSP&S President

 

Donations can be made to MSP&S and sent to Tri-City National Bank; 4295 West Bradley Road; Brown Deer, WI 53209; ATTN: Penny Tillman

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Disciplines, Reflecting on Missions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

