Ongoing Mission

Janjay K. Innis is a missionary with Global Ministries serving as an advocate for young adult mission service in the Missionary Services unit of the agency. She is a former US-2 missionary, and was commissioned to her present work in October 2015. You can read her original blog post here.

I love the US-2 Missionary program
Yo may learn much more from Janjay Innis at the blog- See more at: http://www.umcmission.org/learn-about-us/news-and-stories/2015/october/1016missioncontinues#sthash.xj7hhK44.dpuf

Among other things, she says, “In mission I was chastised for speaking about justice, because people were not prepared to hear them. This frustrated me and was painful because I believe that even if our lived realities are not the same, we, especially as people of faith, should be able to at least hear our neighbors speak about what keeps them from abundant life. This pain led me to wonder if there was room for me in ministry. I could not fathom having to convince people of faith to care about the things that break God’s heart. I was clinically diagnosed as borderline depressed, physically drained and was ready to abandon my faith. –

Still hanging on by thread, I went on a spiritual pilgrimage with my home conference, the New England Conference, to the Taize Community in France.

I recommend the blog

Help us spread the good news that is Generation Transformation. – See more at: http://www.umcmission.org/learn-about-us/news-and-stories/2015/october/1016missioncontinues#sthash.xj7hhK44.dpuf

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, an Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. I love working beside young people. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am going through a process to discern my calling, and to learn more about Christian Leadership. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

