Brother Paul, Father Paul

Brother Paul, Father Paul 

Paul has been my blessing, my example so often.
Especially when I am blustery and speak too much,
I see him sit quietly and gently listen.
He is a model when I need a calm model.
He is my mentor when I need my father here.
He is my sample on how to grow and how to age.
When I am bone-headed, he chuckles ‘OK.’
When I am sad, he says “I know,” and I know he knows.
When I really need to talk, he listens so well.

Paul at eighty still has that questioning spirit. 
Paul asks how and when and where.
Paul at eighty doesn’t have to ask why.
He knows there is no why sometimes.
And still he knows some really big ‘whys.’
Paul at eighty is smart enough to not say it: He is wise.
Paul is an anchor.
Paul is a lion and a fisherman. He builds things to last.
Paul is a calm husband, a calm father.
Paul is faithful.
Paul has been a brother here, and especially
Paul is a my father when I need a father.
We thank God today, and many days:
We are blessed by Brother Paul, Father Paul.
At eighty, Paul blesses us.
Bless Paul today.

(c) Tom Bolton, April 26, 2012, Milwaukee, WI

My mother died when I was in High School, and Dad passed on about 20 years ago.  So I am thankful that my mother-in-law and father-in-law have adopted me as their son in so many ways.  On the event of his 80th birthday this month, I was thinking about Paul Jentz, my father-in-law.  I am planning to share this poem with him on Saturday.  He is a very special person.

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, a former Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am continuing to learn in my dialysis experience and pursuit of a kidney transplant. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Brother Paul, Father Paul

  1. PASTOR DAVIS/MASTER TEACHER says:

    Blessing to you my brother for sharing your blessings.

Leave a comment