In Our Community, on Structure

In Our Community

What structure is it that we build and inhabit
In this Beloved Community?
We are here, joined in the Holy Spirit,
Still in some tension,
For we are from diverse homes.
We love, and we form this body of Christ,
But as the tension between a muscle pair,
so We strengthen our parts when we
Exercise in disciplined forms.
We speak and we listen.
We focus on our movements,
Less on the brick-built Structure,
and fiercely on our faith.
In unity, we are never uniform.
Many evenings, greased in BenGay, we allow
Our aches to heal in harmony.
We ask blessings on this Beloved Community.

(c) Tom Bolton, July 27, 2012, Kenosha, WI

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, a former Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am continuing to learn in my dialysis experience and pursuit of a kidney transplant. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment