In this Community, Forgetting

In this Community, Forgetting

There may come a day, when I, too, will
Forget the places I have been this day, and where now I go.
May I recall deep in me the place of my eternity.
Some days I may forget where I am and how I came here,
and I may forget when sons were here today.
May I recall deep within me the blessed Christ-body.
When cold darkness falls in my yard,
and frost meanders across my kitchen pane,
and cardinals are hidden from my evening meal time,
I may wrestle with decisions to eat, or did eat,
and I may wrestle with smiles or grimaces.
Let God bless me with joy and hope.
I am simple.
Today, as I walk through this day only, old friends are
gone already. Ones who once were mine are gone.
Gentle God, strong Christ-body, bless these folk too.
Show us again joy and hope;
Fill this day with brightest stories of days lived
in this community.

(c) Tom Bolton, July 27, 2012, Kenosha, WI

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, a former Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am continuing to learn in my dialysis experience and pursuit of a kidney transplant. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to In this Community, Forgetting

  1. Pingback: My favorite Posted Poems of 2012 | Hopeful

Leave a comment