Not Bewitched, Away from Turkey

As I walked last Thursday, with heavy clouds low upon the horizon, I remembered my class from Wednesday night, and claimed the fredom of the Gospel.

Not Bewitched, Away from Turkey

I learn somehow, in ways I cannot describe,
to be publicly crucified with Christ.
The blessings of my life have been poured upon me through faith, 
Faith practiced, faith learned, faith lived.
The laws of my life gave no real life,
But here, filled with Christ, there is real life,
Freedom to love.
We love others as ourselves, the lesson learned and
learning it each day needed.
Clouds rolled low across the horizon as we walked
this morning,
And joy peaked through.
Freedom found its way into our lives.
False fathers fell away, and
Constant Christ, caring, came upon us.

(C) Tom Bolton, Milwaukee, October 18, 2012

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, a former Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am continuing to learn in my dialysis experience and pursuit of a kidney transplant. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Not Bewitched, Away from Turkey

  1. Well said Tom! We have heard the term or phrase, “In the zone” used mostly by basketball players. I would like to borrow that phrase today. There is no doubt that you was in the zone with God, and there is no better feeling.
    thanks so much for sharing. God bless.

Leave a comment