GROUNDED

handhead

Grounded in Prayer

No longer am I bapfuye behagazi.
I am restored, bright-eyed in this community.
And yet, wide-awake, I am disturbed too often.
The call of Christ is welcome, and I grab it as
shelter,
and yet,
There is no barrier for life itself.
In this life–indeed, in the Gospel–Jesus is life.
Jesus has brought peace to me, and
I relish the peace of Christ.
Restored and reconciled, I am joyful in the Word.
Yet, as I respond to the disciple-call,
There is commotion and families are changed,
and distant friends,
and old teams re-formed,
and brothers afraid,
and sisters lost,
and parents unsure.
This call is a call to royal priest-hood.
Keep me in this world as a disciple for as long as I must be.
Make me a servant, a listener.
Let me be love here.

(c) Tom Bolton

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, a former Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am continuing to learn in my dialysis experience and pursuit of a kidney transplant. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Disciplines, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment