In Great Beauty Judged

I was studying Psalm 50 last week, and perhaps just browsing some through my Bible and through my personal journal, when this piece just kind of flowed out.

In Great Beauty, Judged

MB900442425God has been with me,
even as I got lost several times,
too many times, and
has spoken to me from the violet and
amber sunrise, to the indigo setting.
Perfect beauty, God has shined.
Beauty that I oft-times missed, and
saw in photos shared,
how can my sight be so indirect some days?
Sunday, I have seen and heard.
Monday, I quaked and missed it.
Wednesday, did I sleep through it?
In the covenant with me,
some days I missed the grandeur of it.
Judged, I have lost His call above
and below.
He gathers saints together, across time.
He knows all these birds, all these beasts of burden,
all these exotic plumes.

Man reading Psalms at the Western Wall. Jerusa...

Man reading Psalms at the Western Wall. Jerusalem, Israel/Palestine, March 2007 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have been silent too.
I offer praise now.
I set aside my silence.
I see and hear great beauty.
I arrange my conversation, now,
in right ways.

(C) Tom Bolton, 8 April, 2013, Milwaukee

About Tom Bolton

I'm a Husband and Dad, a former Enterprise Systems Manager at the City of Milwaukee, and a Disciple and Lay Servant at First United Methodist of West Allis. As I study the Bible, sometimes I feel moved to work through my understanding by writing poetry. I also am continuing to learn in my dialysis experience and pursuit of a kidney transplant. Sometimes I just feel like writing about something that grabs my attention too.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Poetry, Reflecting on Scripture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to In Great Beauty Judged

  1. Pingback: Free | Hopeful

Leave a comment